The Landmark Commission


The mission of the Landmark Commission (LMC) is to encourage and promote historic preservation and historic district revitalization.  It is responsible for the oversight and control of all modifications to structures in City of Dayton historic districts and individually-designated landmarks.

Powers & Duties

The powers of the Landmark Commission are defined by city ordinance.

The Landmark Commission reviews and acts upon all modifications to any structure, site, or area listed on the National Register of Historic Places whenever those modifications involve the use of funds entrusted to the city, the use of the city’s eminent domain or urban renewal powers, or the use of the city’s tax abatement authority.

The Landmark Commission recommends designation of particular historic districts and individual buildings and acts upon all applications for Certificates of Appropriateness for modifications not specifically assigned to the Preservation Officer.

The Landmark Commission prepares and maps the official listing of the Dayton Register of Historic Places and controls them in similar fashion.  In addition, the Landmark Commission classifies all structures and sites listed as eligible for or on the National Register of Historic Places outside of historic districts and acts upon all demolition permits for those structures and sites.

Other duties include the property of legation and programs designed to encourage and promote historic preservation and historic district revitalization.


The Landmark Commission was established as a nine member citizen board, appointed by City Commission, to encourage sensitive and compatible modifications to historic structures and to protect the integrity of historic districts and structures.  The Landmark Commission consists of at least two registered architects, three historic district residents, and one representative from Dayton History.  All members of the Landmark Commission must demonstrate a positive interest in Historic Preservation.


4:30 p.m.
The Thursday following the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month.
City Hall, 6h Floor

101 W. Third Street
Dayton, OH 45402

Meetings last approximately 2 - 3 hours.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval
View Most Recent Agendas & Minutes