Historic Preservation

The city of Dayton is home to 20 historic districts, and 83 Individual landmarks listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Among these, 13 Historic Districts and 58 Individual Landmarks are protected by Historic Zoning.

Register of Historic Places

Historic Districts

13 of the 19 historic districts listed in the National Register have a local historic designation and are also protected by Historic Zoning. Below is an interactive map displaying where each district is, pictures of the district, and information about it. Alternatively, a non-interactive map is also available below.

Historic Districts Interactive Map
Historic Districts Non-Interactive Map

Historic Landmarks

Dayton is home to 83 historic landmarks located throughout the city. Below is an interactive map with markers pointing to where each landmark can be found.

Historic Landmarks

Preservation Efforts

Within the City of Dayton, preservation efforts are primarily undertaken by the Landmark Commission, whose responsibilities include the consideration of modifications to or the demolition of structures located in the local historic districts. One of the planning publications used to guide in the evaluation of modifications is the Blueprint for Rehabilitation.

Blueprint for Rehabilitation: A Positive Approach to Guidelines

The Preservation Officer and the Landmark Commission base all decisions on the Blueprint for Rehabilitation. The Blueprint for Rehabilitation was established by the Landmark Commission to be used when making alterations to historic properties. The manual reflects many years of Landmark Commission decision and recommendations which have been successfully used in rehabilitation. Prescribe methods are logical and reasonable; they are designed to preserve existing fabric, not to create examples of museum quality restorations.