Landmarks Commission


  • 4:30 p.m.
  • The Thursday following the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month
  • City Hall
    101 W 3rd Street
    Dayton, OH 45402
Meetings last approximately 2 to 3 hours.
Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The nine individual seats on the Landmark Commission are specified as follows:
  • Seat 1, Registered Architect
  • Seat 2, City or Business Resident At-Large
    *Preferences: Director of Historic Activities
  • Seat 3, Historic District Resident
  • Seat 4, Historic District Resident
  • Seat 5, Montgomery County Historical Society Representative
  • Seat 6, City or Business Resident At-Large
    *Preferences: Real Estate Professional
  • Seat 7, City or Business Resident At-Large
    *Preferences: Architectural Historian
  • Seat 8, Historic District Resident
  • Seat 9, Registered Architect
*Preferences are the type of person that the Department of Planning and Community Development would like to see hold the particular seat.  These preference types help to ensure a well-rounded, knowledgeable, and representative decision making body.


The mission of the Landmarks Commission (LMC) is to encourage and promote historic preservation and Historic District revitalization. It is responsible for the oversight and control of all modifications to structures in Historic Districts and to designated landmarks.

Powers & Duties

The Landmarks Commission has the following powers and duties:
  • The powers of the Landmarks Commission are defined by city ordinance.
  • The Landmarks Commission reviews and acts upon all modifications to any structure, site, or area listed on the National Register of Historic Places whenever those modifications involve the use of funds entrusted to the city, the use of the city's eminent domain or urban renewal powers, or the use of the city's tax abatement authority.
  • The Landmarks Commission recommends designation of particular historic districts and acts upon all applications for certificates of appropriateness for modifications not specifically assigned to the Historic Preservation Officer.
  • The Landmarks Commission prepares and maps the official listing of Significant Historic Properties and controls them in similar fashion. In addition, the Landmarks Commission classifies all structures and sites listed as eligible for or on the National Register of Historic Places outside of Historic Districts and acts upon all demolition permits for those structures or sites.
  • Other duties include the preparation of legislation and programs designed to encourage and promote historic preservation and Historic District revitalization; the preparation of an annual report on its performance and plans; and an annual budget for the Landmark Trust Account.