City Manager's Office

Dayton operates under the City Manager form of government where elected officials, who handle legislation, appoint a chief executive--the City Manager--to oversee the operations of the local government. The City Manager, along with two Deputy City Managers, ensure goals are met and services are provided by managing the City's departments, divisions and offices. The City Manager reports to the Dayton City Commission, who serve at the pleasure of the citizens of Dayton.

To learn more about City Manager Shelley Dickstein or Deputy City Managers Joseph Parlette and Gil Turner, visit their profiles.

Deputy City Managers

Joe Parlette
Gilbert Turner
  1. Joe Parlette
  2. Gilbert Turner
Joe Parlette oversees some of the City of Dayton's largest departments, including Police, Fire, and Recreation and Youth Services, as well as Human Resources.

A Wright State University graduate, Parlette was previously acting Assistant City Manager, Director of the Department of Recreation and Youth Services and Manager of the Division of Golf. He joined the City in 2002 and served in administrative positions in the Dayton Fire Department.